Lise-Berthaud_Neda-Navaee-1.jpg

Lise Berthaud

Biography

Very present on the international circuit as a soloist as well as a chamber musician, Lise is the guest of venues such as the Musikverein in Vienna, the Théâtre des Champs-Elysées, the Philharmonie in Munich, the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, the Bozar in Brussels, Wigmore Hall , Royal Albert Hall, the Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg, the Mozarteum in Salzburg, the Festspielhaus in Baden Baden, the Easter Festival in Aix en Provence, the Festival de la Roque d'Anthéron, the Dresden Festival, the Musical Meetings of Evian, The Berlioz Festival of the Côte Saint-André, the Tanglewood Festival, the BBC Proms, among many other festivals. She is invited as a soloist by orchestras such as the BBC Symphony Orchestra, the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, the BBC Philharmonic, the Orchester National de Lyon, the Orchester National de Lille, the Orchester National de Belgique, the Iceland Symphony Orchestra , the Hong-Kong Sinfonietta, the Düsseldorfer Symphoniker, the Musiciens du Louvre, the Paris Chamber Orchestra, the Wroclaw Philharmonic Orchestra, the Ulster Symphony Orchestra, the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, the BBC National Orchestra of Wales, the Royal Northern Sinfonia, the Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra and plays under the direction of Sakari Oramo, Andrew Litton, Leonard Slatkin, Fabien Gabel, Paul Mc Creesh, Marc Minkowski, François Leleux, Michael Seal, Anu Tali, Mei-Ann Chen and Emmanuel Krivine.

 

From 2013 to 2015, Lise Berthaud took part in the prestigious BBC New Generation Artist program which enabled her to perform with all the BBC orchestras and to make numerous recordings as a soloist and chamber music for the BBC. In September 2014, she made her debut as a soloist at the BBC Proms at the Royal Albert Hall in London with the BBC Symphony conducted by Andrew Litton.

 

After having participated in numerous recordings including the complete piano music of Schumann and Fauré by Eric Le Sage at Alpha, she recorded for Aparté a first disc in recital with the pianist Adam Laloum which appeared in 2013. The critics are unanimous: Diapason d'or, Resmusica key, Radio Classique selection, France Inter selection. In October 2013, Leonard Slatkin chose her to perform and record for Naxos Harold in Italy with the Orchester National de Lyon as part of a Berlioz integral. In 2018, she participated alongside her friends Pierre Fouchenneret, Eric Le Sage, François Salque and other musicians in the recording of a complete chamber music by Brahms.

 

Lise has performed alongside artists such as Renaud Capuçon, Bertrand Chamayou, Adam Laloum, Eric Le Sage, Augustin Dumay, Pierre-Laurent Aimard, Paul Meyer, Gautier Capuçon, Louis Lortie, Emmanuel Pahud, Marie-Pierre Langlamet, Gordan Nikollich, Martin Helmchen, Marie-Elisabeth Hecker, Daishin Kashimoto, the Ebony Quartets, Modigliani or Armida. She is a co-founding member of the Strada Quartet (with Sarah Nemtanu, Pierre Fouchenneret and François Salque) and forms a piano quartet with Baiba Skride, Victor-Julien-Laferrière and Lauma Skride.

 

Lise Berthaud studied at the National Conservatory of Music in Paris in the classes of Pierre-Henry Xuereb and Gérard Caussé. At 18, she won the European Competition for Young Performers. In 2005, she won the Hindemith Prize at the Geneva International Competition.

 

Lise plays a 1660 viola by Antonio Casini generously made available to her by Bernard Magrez.

Lise Berthaud – Casini 1660

1660! Older than JS Bach!! I open my box and still can't believe that such a viola has gone through this time.

It's a wonderful  adventure to change instruments; I begin to tame it, to explore all its richness of timbres; I have to adapt to his strong personality and I feel him, too, reacting to my game.

It has this naturally very rich and deep sound that inspires me incredibly.

Mr. Magrez offers me an incredible chance by lending me this Antonio Casini, that of being on stage with an ideal companion.

Testimony

lise-25.jpg

Next performances

July 2022

From July 7 to 11

Sâou sings Mozart festival in the drome 

July 20

Recital with Eric Lesage Perros-Guirec

July 22 & 23

Pietrasanta (Tuscany) Festival

with Maxim Vengerov

August 2022

August 3

Recital with Adam Laloum Oizon

From August 4 to 7

Deauville Festival

From August 8 to 16

Professor at the castle of Antheron 

 

From August 17 to 19

Festival Vigo Spain

August 25

Recital with Jean-Frederic Numburger La Côte St André 

August 26 & 27

Caunes Festival

LISE BERTHAUD

Biographie

Très présente sur le circuit international aussi bien comme soliste que chambriste, Lise est l’invitée de salles comme le Musikverein de Vienne, le Théâtre des Champs-Elysées, la Philharmonie de Munich le Concertgebouw d’Amsterdam, le Bozar de Bruxelles, Wigmore Hall, Royal Albert Hall, la Elbphilharmonie de Hambourg, le Mozarteum de Salzburg, le Festspielhaus de Baden Baden, le Festival de Pâques d’Aix en Provence, le Festival de la Roque d’Anthéron, le Festival de Dresde, les Rencontres Musicales d’Evian, Le festival Berlioz de la Côte Saint-André, le Festival de Tanglewood, les BBC Proms, entre autres nombreux festivals. Elle est invitée comme soliste par des orchestres comme le BBC Symphony Orchestra, le City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, le BBC Philharmonic, l’Orchestre National de Lyon, l’Orchestre National de Lille, l‘Orchestre National de Belgique, le Iceland Symphony Orchestra, la Hong-Kong Sinfonietta, le Düsseldorfer Symphoniker, les Musiciens du Louvre, l’Orchestre de Chambre de Paris, l’Orchestre Philharmonique de Wroclaw, l’Ulster Symphony Orchestra, le BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, le BBC National Orchestra of Wales, le Royal Northern Sinfonia, le Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra et joue sous la direction de Sakari Oramo, Andrew Litton, Leonard Slatkin, Fabien Gabel, Paul Mc Creesh, Marc Minkowski, François Leleux, Michael Seal, Anu Tali, Mei-Ann Chen ou encore Emmanuel Krivine .

 

De 2013 à 2015, Lise Berthaud prend part au prestigieux programme BBC New Generation Artist qui lui a permis de se produire avec tous les orchestres de la BBC et d’effectuer de nombreux enregistrements en soliste et musique de chambre pour la BBC. En septembre 2014, elle fait ses débuts comme soliste aux BBC Proms au Royal Albert Hall de Londres avec le BBC Symphony dirigé par Andrew Litton.

 

Après avoir participé à de nombreux enregistrements dont les intégrales de la musique avec piano de Schumann et Fauré par Eric Le Sage chez Alpha, elle enregistre pour Aparté un premier disque en récital avec le pianiste Adam Laloum qui paraît en 2013. Les critiques sont unanimes : Diapason d’or, clé Resmusica, sélection Radio Classique, sélection France Inter. En octobre 2013, Leonard Slatkin la choisit pour interpréter et enregistrer pour Naxos Harold en Italie avec l’Orchestre National de Lyon dans le cadre d’une intégrale Berlioz. En 2018, elle participe aux côtés de ses amis Pierre Fouchenneret, Eric Le Sage, François Salque et d’autres musiciens à l’enregistrement d’une intégrale de la musique de chambre de Brahms.

 

Lise s’est produite aux côtés d’artistes comme Renaud Capuçon, Bertrand Chamayou, Adam Laloum, Eric Le Sage, Augustin Dumay, Pierre-Laurent Aimard, Paul Meyer, Gautier Capuçon, Louis Lortie, Emmanuel Pahud, Marie-Pierre Langlamet, Gordan Nikollich, Martin Helmchen, Marie-Elisabeth Hecker, Daishin Kashimoto, les Quatuors Ebène, Modigliani ou Armida. Elle est membre co-fondatrice du Quatuor Strada (avec Sarah Nemtanu, Pierre Fouchenneret et François Salque) et forme un quatuor avec piano avec Baiba Skride, Victor-Julien-Laferrière et Lauma Skride.

 

Lise Berthaud a étudié au Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris dans les classes de Pierre-Henry Xuereb et Gérard Caussé. A 18 ans, elle est lauréate du Concours Européen des Jeunes Interprètes. Elle remporte en 2005 le Prix Hindemith du Concours International de Genève.

 

Lise joue un alto d’ Antonio Casini de 1660 généreusement mis à sa disposition par Bernard Magrez.

Témoignage

Lise Berthaud – Casini 1660

1660 !!!! plus vieux que J.S Bach!!! J'ouvre ma boite et n'en reviens toujours pas qu'un tel alto ait traversé ce temps.

C'est une merveilleuse  aventure de changer d'instrument ; je commence à l'apprivoiser, à explorer toutes ses richesses de timbres; je dois m'adapter à sa forte personnalité et je le sens, lui aussi, réagir à mon jeu.

Il a ce son naturellement très riche et profond qui m'inspire incroyablement.

M. Magrez m'offre une chance incroyable en me prêtant cet Antonio Casini, celle d'être sur scène avec un compagnon idéal.

Actualités

  • 23 octobre récital Freinsheim Allemagne

  • 25 octobre skride quartette Bern Suisse

  • 4 novembre concert fondation Bernard Magrez Bordeaux

  • 9-10 décembre récital à Neuchâtel Suisse

  • 19 décembre quintette avec le quatuor Elmire salle Cortot Paris

  • 8et 9 janvier récital et musique de chambre à St Omer

  • 13 janvier récital et musique de chambre à Coulommiers

  • 15 janvier concertante de Mozart avec l'orchestre de la BBC à Manchester UK

  • 21 janvier récital de musique de chambre à Bruges Belgique

  • 24 janvier récital de musique de chambre  théâtre des Bouffes du Nord Paris

  • 4-5 mars concertante de Mozart avec l'Orchestre National de Lille

  • 14 mars Récital salle Poirel Nancy